List of theories

Wechsler test

The methodology is based on a scale or a test that reveals the level of intellectual development. The technique of Wechsler was developed in the late 30s of the XX century, based on it - a group of subtests, divided into two categories.

First, the scientist developed a point scale, while taking into account the gaps of previously created methods. In particular, the test of Stanford-Binet on the levels of mental age, in which there were no non-verbal tasks. David Wechsler included these tasks in his scale, then edited it several times, offering different versions. In 1949, the adult intelligence scale was introduced, edited much later, in 1981.

In practice, several modifications of the scale are used, among which:

  • version for testing adults (WAIS);
  • version for children and teenagers (WISC);
  • version for young children (up to 6.5 years old) - WPPSI.

In Wechsler’s test for adults there are 11 subtests, divided into two categories of tasks: verbal and non-verbal. The intelligence scale for adolescents includes 12 subtests, while they correspond to the tasks of adults, but they are simplified taking into account age features.

WAIS test

Non-verbal scale (action):

  1. Numeric characters.
  2. Completion of pictures.
  3. Kohs Block Design Test.
  4. Sequence.
  5. Folding shapes (assembly of a specific object).

Performing tasks in this group not only diagnoses certain knowledge, but also the ability to act. Experts consider the most informative tests for folding figures and Kohs cubes. Coordination and perception diagnose tasks using digital symbols. It is believed that the success of the tasks in the three subtests listed depends on sensory coordination, while the fulfillment of others is determined by the cognitive abilities of the individual.

Kohs blocks and tasks for them can be printed here.

There are six subtests in the verbal scale:

  1. General awareness.
  2. Lexicon.
  3. Memorizing numbers.
  4. Arithmetic.
  5. Understanding.
  6. Finding similarities.

The success of the tasks in this group is determined by the level of education, the general level of human culture. In addition, much depends on the ability to logical thinking, abstraction, and the level of active attention.


The scale for determining the intelligence of children included 12 subtests. The name of the task groups is the same as in adults. A subtest Labyrinth has been added. When testing alternate tasks of two groups.

BrainApps uses cookies in order to offer the best experience of our website. Please review our Cookie policy for more information.