List of theories

Raven’s Progressive Matrices

Raven Progressive Matrices test  was developed in 1936 by J. Raven and L. Penrose to separate test subjects based on their level of intellectual development. The Raven’s test is considered a “pure” measurement of general intelligence with high validity and reliability.

Features of Raven’s test:

  • It has a non-verbal nature.
  • Matrices can be used among subjects from 4.5 years.
  • Language, speech development, cultural background, social status, level of education are unimportant for research.
  • Interpreted unequivocally.
  • Characterized by a theoretical justification.
  • Easy to conduct and process results.
  • Let's apply for mass researches.

The structure of the test of Raven

The essence of the technique: the rapid and accurate determination of logical laws in the construction of a number of graphical elements with a set of specific features.

"Matrices" include 60 tasks (5 series of 12 tasks) and are ordered by increasing complexity:

  1. Series A. Addition of the main graphic object with the missing part by analyzing the features of the main element and searching for the necessary fragment.
  2. Series B. Determination of the axis of symmetry of the sample and the selection of the missing fragment on the principle of constructing the main figure.
  3. Series C. Finding features of progressive changes in the objects of the matrix and the choice of the missing element.
  4. Series D. Deciphering the rearrangement of figures horizontally and vertically in the matrix.
  5. Series E. By analysis and synthesis, the definition of the specificity of the decomposition of the main object into small elements.

The test result is based on the age characteristics of the subject and consists of the speed of solving problems and their consistency.

BrainApps uses cookies in order to offer the best experience of our website. Please review our Cookie policy for more information.